Seventh Son Review: I think the book might have been better

Finally caught Seventh Son yesterday night, with a pal of mine who agreed to accompany me.  My real reason for watching this movie was because of Mr Kit Harington.  Having been totally against Game of Thrones, I’ve unknowingly been secretly attracted to this actor without even knowing the reason why.  So, when I eventually watched Game of Thrones, it’s safe to say I self-combust inside each time Kit’s on-screen.  Anywho, moving away from this digression…

Seventh Son is actually quite an interesting movie, excluding the fact that Kit’s character died within the first 10 minutes of the movie.  The movie is actually based off the novel titled The Spook’s Apprentice by Joseph Delaney; which is also the first book in The Wardstone Chronicles series.   The story basically follows an old spook (Jeff Bridges) training his apprentice, Tom Ward (Ben Barnes), to take over and also help in the fight to defeat the evil Mother Malkin (Julianne Moore).  It’s your usual monster-fighting-hero-saving-the-day kind of movie and it is genuinely enjoyable with the effects plus action sequences.  I really have to say that Julianne Moore did a splendid job!  She was able to give me the creeps each time she appeared!  Despite that, I felt that there were a couple of things they could have done better with the film.

ss-2
“Are you sure this is the right way, old man?” Source: United International Pictures

1. Building the character
I felt that the characters were not given enough time to be introduced to the audience properly.  In fact, they were being given quick introductions with no room for audiences to better understand the character, which I felt was such a shame because novels like these tend to have potential to rake in big bucks in the box office.

2. Inconsistency with actor’s accents
I have a huge pet peeve with this.  When a character is supposed to be from a certain era, they should all be speaking the same way.  Take Benedict Cumberbatch’s performance in 12 Years A Slave for an example.  Don’t get me wrong. Benedict is a wonderful performer but this was a show about the dark times of the South in America.  There were times when he would be speaking as an English man but then he would turn into a Southerner in his next line.  Sometimes, he would mix the both!  So, what’s the issue in this movie?  Well, the movie started off with Kit’s character speaking with a British accent and after his character died, the rest of the characters appeared, speaking with an American accent.  What’s up with that?!  They didn’t mention if they came from different areas of this mystical land but I thought that it would have been best if they just stuck to one kind of accent.  I know this seems like a rather small issue to some but to me, it changes how a movie flows for me.

3. Romance
What kind of Hollywood film would this be if there wasn’t any romance in it?  Unfortunately for this film,  I felt that the romance factor was way too rushed.  Everything about it felt a little unnatural for me – the rushed kissing, the ‘I love you’ feeling that seem to come on real quick.  But of course (in my opinion), it wouldn’t have seem like the romance was a mandatory factor as opposed to it naturally being in the story, if proper character building was done.

With that said, Seventh Son on the whole is a pretty interesting and enjoyable movie.  If not for the three points I gave, the movie would have been great (for me).

Rating:

starstarhalfstar

Leave a Reply

