Taken 3 Review: Daddy saves the day once more

When I heard there was going to be a part three for this, I had the same reaction as everyone else.  I mean… What else can you take from this poor guy?  First, you took his daughter. Then you took him and his ex-wife. So, now what?  You’re going to take the dog he doesn’t have?!  Don’t get me wrong.  I love this franchise.  I really do.  I often imagine my dad having Liam Neeson’s skills but I don’t think he’ll be able to be threatening enough to get me back.  To be honest, I think he would actually try once but when they tell him ‘good luck in getting your daughter back’, he’ll probably shrug and go, ‘Well, I tried. At least there’s one less thing to worry about now.’

Taken 3 is a little different this time in a sense that what’s taken from Bryan Mills (Liam Neeson) this time, is not just a person but also his innocence.  In this film, Bryan comes home to see his wife dead in his bed.  She had been murdered by someone, who had conveniently framed him for the murder.  In order to prove his innocence and protect his daughter, Kim (Maggie Grace), he has to do what he does best – hunt down the sons of bitches who did this.

t3-1
“I’m sorry you have to go through this again.” Source: 20th Century Fox

It may seem like a simple story line but there were quite a lot of plot twists.  In all honesty, this wasn’t what I had expected.  He hadn’t crossed paths with any of the characters he was chasing this time and it really was an action-packed ride till the end.  I would say the action sequence were bigger this time especially the plane chasing scene at the end.  Despite it being somewhat unbelievable, it’s hard to even care when you are on the edge of your seat.  And of course, Mr Neeson’s deep voice and cool stance still never fails to make any 20 to 30 year-old wish he was their dad.

This is really an action movie worth catching if you are into car chases, hand to hand combat and explosions.  I do hope that this is REALLY REALLY REALLY the last film for the Taken franchise but knowing that it is Hollywood and milking franchises is the best way to go… I wouldn’t be surprised if Taken 4 hits theaters 2017.

Rating:

starstarstar

One thought on “Taken 3 Review: Daddy saves the day once more

Leave a Reply

