Fast and Furious 7 Review: A tribute to Paul Walker

 

Finally managed to catch Fast and Furious 7 and I had a mix of emotions.  On one hand, I was excited to see the mad driving skills and action but on the other hand, I wasn’t ready to see Paul on-screen again.  I felt that it would just remind me how much I miss the guy that brought Brian to life.

Fast and Furious 7 picks up from where Fast and Furious 6 ended.  Owen Shaw (Luke Evans) is seen lying paralyzed in the hospital where his brother, Deckard Shaw (Jason Statham), vows to have revenge on those who put his brother in the hospital.  So he goes on a hunt where he first breaks into Hobbs’ (Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson) office to gather data on the team who went after Owen.  A fight ensues which ended in an explosion.  Shielding his colleague, Elena (Elsa Pataky), who came back just in time to aid Hobbs in the fight, Hobbs took the brunt of the explosion and ended up in the hospital.

XXX FURIOUS 7 MOV JY 5045 .JPG A ENT
“Who else wants to get their ass kicked?” Source: Universal Pictures

Deckard begins his mission by first hunting down Han (Sung Kang) and simultaneously sending Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) a package from Japan.  That’s where the ending scene of Fast and Furious 6 is weaved into the picture.  After dealing with Han, Deckard calls Dominic up and tells him that he is coming for him.  Putting two and two together, Dominic shouts for his sister Mia (Jordana Brewster) and Brian O’Conner (Paul Walker) to take cover just before the package blew up.

Because of this, Hobbs reaches out to Dominic from the hospital and gives him the low down on Deckard.  Wanting revenge for the attack on his family, Dominic is determined to go after Deckard with or without anyone’s blessing.  He eventually gets help from a guy named Mr Nobody (Kurt Russell) who offered him unlimited resources to track Deckard down in exchange for a program called God’s Eye and the hacker, Ramsey (Nathalie Emmanuel) who created it.  Rallying up his crew which included Brian, Letty (Michelle Rodriguez), Roman (Tyrese Gibson) and Tej (Ludacris), they head out to rescue Ramsey from Jakande, a Somalian terrorist (Djimon Hounsou) and find Deckard Shaw.

fnf7-3
“Hold on tight!” Source: Universal Pictures

I’d have to say that based on action, this movie had it all; flying cars from a plane, flying car going through buildings, fantastic fight scenes between characters.  There were points in the movie where I felt that there were too many things going on and I wasn’t exactly sure what the focus was.  But, that could be because of the many characters introduced into the picture.  Instead of having to take down one bad guy, Dominic and his team had two to deal with.  Having said that, I get that the film had to have plenty of action but it would have been better to just have one bad dude (since Jason Statham is pretty bad ass on his own.)

Paul’s brothers stood in for him during some of the scenes and they had Paul’s face CGI-ed onto theirs.  It’s hard to make CGI seamless especially when it’s mimicking the likeness of a real person so it was definitely hard not to note the parts where it wasn’t Paul.  Some of the cinema-goers that I was watching with couldn’t help but point it out and it got a little annoying at times. I mean, come on.  Have some respect.  It takes a lot of courage for the brothers to stand-in for their brother who passed on.

Of the whole movie, the part that I really liked was the ending of the movie – the scene where they were all sitting at the beach watching Brian and Mia play with their son.  As the camera focused on each one of them, you could see the raw emotion they held, especially for Michelle.  Seeing Michelle tear up, made me tear up.  At this point, I knew I wasn’t able to hold it in anymore.  The floodgates opened when Ramsey says, “You aren’t going to say good-bye?” And Dominic replies, “It’s never good-bye”.

fnf7-2
R.I.P Paul Walker. Source: Universal Pictures

I felt that they kinda gave Paul’s character a nice conclusion to his journey with Dom and the crew.  And the tribute was absolutely wonderful.  So go catch Fast and Furious 7 if you haven’t!  Along with the other ladies in the theater, I felt the tears run like a waterfall as I sniffled away.  Especially when they had the song See You Again playing in the background, while Vin Diesel’s character says this:

“No matter where you are, whether it’s a quarter-mile away or halfway around the world, you’ll always be with me and you’ll always be my brother.”

From me to Paul: You’ll always be remembered and never forgotten, Paul.  Thank you for the wonderful memories that you gave us as Brian O’Connor in Fast and Furious and your journey as an actor.

Rating:

starstarstarstar

One thought on “Fast and Furious 7 Review: A tribute to Paul Walker

  1. It’s an incredibly silly movie but I enjoyed it. I honestly didn’t notice the CGI Paul but I wasn’t really looking for it either. How annoying that people in the theater were doing that. I also loved the ending. To me it was a little too long and some of the booty shots got old but I gave it a B-. Not normally my kind of movie but I liked it.

Leave a Reply

