Insidious: Chapter 3 Review: Taking your everyday fears and making them worse

I walked into the cinema with a very confident mindset, in which I wouldn’t get scared.  But sitting down in between my friends, watching the trailers as time gets closer for the film to begin, my confidence started to fade.  And when the opening sequence started, fear became my best friend.

Insidious: Chapter 3 is the prequel to the first 2 Insidious films.  The story takes place before the Lambert family.  Teenager Quinn Brenner (Stefanie Scott) has been wanting to contact her mother ever since her passing.  Sensing that her mother is trying to contact her back, she goes off on her own to seek help from Elise Rainier (Lin Shaye), a gifted psychic.

ic3-1
“Damn it, why did I turn?!” Source: Blumhouse Productions

However, having faced a traumatic experience of her own, Elise is reluctant to tap into her psychic abilities to help Quinn.  All she tells Quinn is to not go seeking her mother on her own.  Quinn doesn’t listen and continues making contact on her own.  Shortly after, Quinn gets into a car accident that renders both her legs broken.  She eventually becomes the target of a malevolent entity and running out of options, Quinn’s father (Dermot Mulroney) pleads with Elise to save his daughter.  Realizing that her gift was given to her to do good, Elise agrees to help.  With the aid from two parapsychologists, Elise ventures into the Further; where she finds a powerful demon who has been keeping human souls.  Battling her own demon, Elise keeps strong as she hurries to save Quinn’s soul before it’s too late.

I’d have to say that this was probably the scariest out of the other two movies.  The realism story setting made me terrified of my own bedroom and things that go bump in the night for a good few days.  The most frightening part that got to me was when she sees the silhouette of a person behind her curtain.  There wasn’t even enough time for Quinn to think that her eyes were playing tricks on her as the silhouette starting walking towards her bed.  There are many times when I’ve encountered situations like this, which were thankfully false alarms.  But now, watching this film has made me scared of curtains blown by the wind and being alone when that happens.

IL1A2906.CR2
“Just reminding you that I’m not of Ghost Hunters caliber. I’ll still scream if I’m scared.” Source: Blumhouse Productions

In terms of scare factors, I felt that Insidious: Chapter 3 had it on point.  They were believable ways in which entities can approach humans and I have to say one scene which gave me the heebie-jeebies was when the entity waved at her backstage.  I mean… What the what, right?!  I will not be standing there staring at that silhouette. I’d be pretending I didn’t see anything.  Besides the scary parts, I have to say that I liked that they kept this in line with Quinn trying to get in touch with her mother.  At the end of the film, it wasn’t just the people who were living that were giving her the will to fight the entity but also the spirit of her mother.  It’s nice that they didn’t lose that part of the story to all the scares of the film.

All in all, I’d still have to say that no matter what, Insidious (be it 1, 2 or 3) will always be my favorite horror film(s).  It doesn’t matter if you’ve watched the first 2 or not.  Insidious: Chapter 3 does well as a stand alone too. So, if you still haven’t caught the film, you’re missing out on a good scare!  Oh and if you’ve seen the film, be careful of what you hear in the vents!

Rating:

starstarstarstar

Leave a Reply

