Pan Review: A decent film about Peter Pan

 

Pan tells the story of how Peter became the boy who never grows up.  Placed at an orphanage’s doorstep when he was a baby, Peter (Levi Miller) grew up never knowing who his parents were.  Much like the other children in the orphanage, Peter longs to get out and when he starts noticing the disappearance of some children, he begins to wonder if there was a higher power at work.  One night, Peter and his friend Nibs, decide to stay up through the night to see how this children were disappearing.  They eventually got more than they bargained for when they both get caught by pirates, along with the other boys in their dormitory.  The friends however gets separated when Nibs manages to leap back onto the orphanage’s roof just before the ship they were on set sail.

pan-1
“How to make this big?” Source: Warner Bros.

Introduced to a world entirely different from the one he is living in, Peter enters Neverland when he meets the pirate king, Blackbeard (Hugh Jackman).  Peter is then put to work like the rest of the orphans, mining for pixie dust.  He befriends James Hook (Garrett Hedlund), who later helps him escape to the tribal territory where they meet Tiger Lily (Rooney Mara) and her tribe.  After discovering that Peter was the chosen one who has returned to help defend Neverland against Blackbeard and the pirates, Tiger Lily and James took it upon themselves to keep Peter safe.  Learning that he was the product of love between a fairy prince and his human mother (Amanda Seyfried), he realizes just how important it is for him to protect Neverland.  As Blackbeard learns of the secret fairy kingdom, Peter and his friends join forces to ensure he doesn’t succeed in destroying the kingdom.  But to do so, Peter has to fully believe that he is the hero who has returned home.

pan-2
“Dang it. I’m suppose to be the cool Captain Hook. Why am I being captured here?” Source: Warner Bros.

I wasn’t sure if this was going to come out as I expected since I had seen articles where they were saying Pan wasn’t going to be a box office hit.  I’m not one for watching the number 1 movie in the country (I still refuse to watch Avatar) but when there are many articles giving slightly negative reviews, I tend to rethink my decision.  But since this was about the origin of Peter Pan (and I love Disney characters), I said screw it, I’m going to watch it.

And I’m happy I did.

From the moment the film began, I was hooked (pun not intended).  For that whole 2 hours, I felt transported to a world where I could only imagine.  From the stunning colors down to the realistic graphics, it was literally a feast for the eyes.  I can actually imagine myself spending the rest of my life in Neverland.

pan-3
“Just think of me as an updated version of Tiger Lily.” Source: Warner Bros.

I know that the casting of the characters was one of controversy especially when Rooney was cast as Tiger Lily.  I didn’t exactly agree with her as Tiger Lily as well because we all know Tiger Lily is supposed to be Native American.  But with this being a Hollywood film, nothing’s gonna steer them towards a different direction.  I particularly like Garrett Hedlund as Captain Hook because he was behaving similarly to his cartoon counterpart (minus the hair and get-up).  I really liked the portrayal of Smee as well and was particularly surprised they went with an Ethnic actor for the role.  It breathes a breath of fresh air and got me thinking that perhaps different races playing a particular role might work.  The thing I liked best about this film is the subtle references to Peter Pan (the original story).  It just made the film so much more enjoyable!

Needless to say, I think Pan is a pretty good film.  It’s a means of escape from the day-to-day hectic life as you fully emerge in the story of the boy who can fly.  I’m still hoping to be accepted as a lost girl.  Till then, I’ll still be searching for the second star to the right.

Rating:

starstarstar

Leave a Reply

