My Writing Journey

Since I’ve published quite a number of movie reviews already, I thought it’s time to give a little brief summary of my writing journey.

I’ve been writing for 11 years now, and though it started off as a hobby, it is now very much a part of who I am. I had been rather shy about writing when I first began, only letting my close friend read the stories I’ve penned. My secret relationship with writing was eventually found out by my sister, who chanced upon my binders of hand-written writing in the study. And, I’d like to think that it was she who gave me the confidence to post online.

I’m a rather shy person in reality. To post something personal online wasn’t something I was comfortable with. Growing up with the internet, I wasn’t ignorant about the internet trolls that exist. They were one of the reasons why I didn’t dare to put anything that was mine online.

But I realized that if I never gave myself the opportunity to be criticized, I wouldn’t know what worked and what didn’t in my writing. So, on one bold evening, I uploaded the first chapter of my story online.

I had expected it to be met with instant rejection but instead, there were nice, constructive comments left from readers that enjoyed it.

That’s when I figured it was the right move.

Now, I not only maintain this blog, I write for a local website named Geek Crusade, that is all about movies, TV and the Geek pop culture in general.

If you’d like to read the reviews and articles I’ve written, you can visit here – http://www.geekcrusade.com/author/jasmine-ong/

Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my posts! If you’re one of the handful of followers I have, thank you very much for giving this girl a boost in confidence! 🙂

Till the next film, y’all!

Leave a Reply

